

## **BULLETIN**

**To:** All Signatories to the 2022 SAG-AFTRA Commercials Contracts

From: Stacy Marcus, Chief Negotiator for The Joint Policy Committee, LLC

**Date:** June 6, 2023

**Re:** SAG-AFTRA TV/Theatrical Contracts Strike Authorization

## **Background**

Following the SAG-AFTRA National Board's May recommendation, on June 5, 2023, members of SAG-AFTRA (the "Union") voted to authorize a strike if the Union is unable reach a new contract agreement ("SAG-AFTRA TV/Theatrical Contracts") with the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers ("AMPTP"), which represents television, film, and streaming studios. The authorization to strike does not actually mean there will be a strike, but it allows the Union's National Board to call a strike, without further member authorization, if it deems necessary during upcoming contract negotiations. Negotiations between SAG-AFTRA and AMPTP are scheduled to begin on June 7, 2023, with the current TV/Theatrical Contracts expiring on June 30, 2023.

## **Effect on Commercials and the Commercials Contract**

The SAG-AFTRA TV/Theatrical Contracts is a separate contract from the SAG-AFTRA Commercials Contract and will **have no impact on Union actors' who work in commercials**. Section 59 and Schedule B.III.A of the Commercials Contract provides for a No-Strike Clause, meaning that any performers hired for work under the Commercials Contracts must continue to work and provide services. In the event of a strike under the TV/Theatrical Contracts, there would be an immediate shut down of all AMPTP member-produced TV/Theatrical projects. However, Union members will still be expected to continue their work under the SAG-AFTRA Commercials Contract. The JPC does not expect there will be any disruptions to our industry.

\*

For additional information, please contact the JPC at <a href="mailto:smarcus@jointpolicycommittee.org">smarcus@jointpolicycommittee.org</a>, <a href="mailto:kstevens@jointpolicycommittee.org">kstevens@jointpolicycommittee.org</a> or <a href="mailto:bhaynes@jointpolicycommittee.org">bhaynes@jointpolicycommittee.org</a>.