

## BULLETIN

**To:** All Signatories to the 2022 SAG-AFTRA Commercials Contracts

From: Stacy Marcus, Chief Negotiator for The Joint Policy Committee, LLC

**Date:** July 13, 2023

**Re:** SAG-AFTRA TV/Theatrical Contracts Strike

## **Background**

Following an extension of negotiations, the SAG-AFTRA Television/Theatrical Contracts expired July 12, 2023, at 11:59 p.m. PT. Members of SAG-AFTRA (the "Union") previously voted to authorize a strike if the Union was unable reach a new contract agreement ("TV/Theatrical Contracts") with the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers ("AMPTP"), which represents television, film, and streaming studios. As of July 13, 2023, the SAG-AFTRA National Board voted to strike beginning at midnight.

## **Effect on Commercials and the Commercials Contract**

As a result of the strike under the TV/Theatrical Contracts, there will be an immediate shut down of all AMPTP member-produced TV/Theatrical projects. Under the strike, Union members cannot perform services for television and film projects produced under the TV/Theatrical Contracts. However, as a reminder, the SAG-AFTRA TV/Theatrical Contracts are separate from the SAG-AFTRA Commercials Contract and will have no impact on Union actors who work in commercials.

Section 59 and Schedule B.III.A of the Commercials Contract provides for a No-Strike Clause, meaning that any performers hired for work under the Commercials Contracts must continue to work and provide services.

With respect to promotional activities, any such activities in support of brands/advertisers are not impacted by the strike and Union members must continue to provide such services. However, promotional activities in support of TV or film projects or sponsored by studios are prohibited by the strike. Promotional activities include posting on social media and attending events (e.g., film festivals and red carpets).

\*

For additional information, please contact the JPC at <a href="mailto:smarcus@jointpolicycommittee.org">smarcus@jointpolicycommittee.org</a>, kstevens@jointpolicycommittee.org or bhaynes@jointpolicycommittee.org.